About the Awards

The Bragato Wine Awards is seen by many as the first wine show for the new vintage; this is a chance to see how they stack up against other wines in the same class.

The objective is to give recognition to viticultural excellence and to recognize the influence of grape growers and their vineyards in creating the unique qualities of New Zealand wines, by judging the wines made from grapes grown on such specified vineyards.

This competition is open to all growers of New Zealand wine grapes to enter wine products from grapes grown on the vineyard or vineyards owned, managed, or operated by the entrant. Entries must be wholly made, processed and matured in New Zealand.

In August 2017, a panel of 12 top wine experts, including a judge from Australia, will sniff, swirl and taste their way through over 450 wines. Chair of Judges for 2017 is Ben Glover.  The top wines tasted will be awarded Bronze, Silver or Gold Medals, with the very best wines receiving Trophies.  Trophies will be awarded during the 2017 Romeo Bragato National Conference, which takes place in Marlborough on 30-31 August.

Our Key Sponsor for the 2017 Bragato Wine Awards is O-I New Zealand.

Important Dates for 2017

Entries open: Tue 6 June

Entries close: Fri 30 June

Late entries close: Fri 14 July

Judging: Wed 16 – Thu 17 August

Bragato Wine Awards Tasting: Wed 30 August

Romeo Bragato Conference Dinner: Thu 31 August

For any questions regarding the 2017 Bragato Wine Awards please email 

Principal Sponsors

Premium Sponsors